Literally gloomy Sunday

No hot babes in bathtubs.

I knew the weather today would be awful for two reasons:

  1. I cleaned my bike yesterday.
  2. I went outside today.

I had hoped that we might be in for that dreadful light drizzle which is invisible and annoying, but not excessively bothersome. But instead, we had rain, which worsened while I was out. It did at least have the decency to get worse again after I got home.

There was an electricity bill stuck to my door, but it wasn’t so bad, and it can wait till tomorrow.

Grumpy Cat: humour with Chinese characteristicsI did do some more work for next week, but I also spent time linger­ing on G+ and trying my hand at adding to the excessive collection of grumpy cat memes on line. On reflection (what a good IB learner I am), satire doesn’t really work if your pot­ential audi­ence does not under­stand it because it’s not relevant to them.

While I was thinking about the word “pre­mo­ni­tion”, I wondered whether there was a related verb. The only similar words I could think of were “admonition” ~ “admonish”. The latter turns out to be the only –monish verb in English, although I wondered whether the verb *premonish might have popped up as a short-lived inkhorn term in the 15th or 16th century. But instead, “foretell” seems to have survived. Mind you, from a sociolinguistic perspective, I suppose the Anglo-Norman tyrants who ruled England in the Middle Ages were constantly admonishing their English subjects.

In Old English, the word was a-manian, a-monian (a-ma/onigan; also ge~), a Class II weak verb. There was also ge-mynegian, which was a Class II weak verb as well. It was probably etymologically related to a-manian, and words such as myne “mind” (the source of gemynegian) and the preterite-present verb, munan “remember; consider”.

Although Class II weak verbs were historically denominal, there appears to be no surviving noun  in OE corresponding to –manian.

Leave a Reply

