Another nightmare ends

You’ve all done very mediocrely.

I finally managed to finish marking the AS tests this morning with the pressure on me to add the marks to this online database we now have. The Economics class averaged 55% because that’s what being arrogant and fat-headed gets you, while the Business class averaged 59% because they at least put some effort in.

I wasn’t being slow doing the marking, but since each piece of drivelsome writing was taking me 15 to 20 minutes to mark, I needed time away from writing which was hurting me mentally and physically. I don’t know whether the IELTS band descriptors still describe writing as placing a strain on the reader, but this stuff placed a strain on me. (I have to confess that I’m going to tell the little darlings that “stuff” is not appropriate in formal written English. This isn’t, of course, formal writing.)

The students can’t write cohesively; they can use paragraphs, but only crudely as they insist that everything about a particular main idea must be in the same paragraph; they’ve obviously been taught to place the topic sentence at the end of the introductory paragraph, but they haven’t been taught that the rest of the paragraph needs to be interesting and engaging. Oh, hang on. They have no idea how to write in an interesting and engaging way.

They still won’t be able to grasp that their English is a long way from being up to university standard even when the evidence is in front of them.

Leave a Reply

