This is insufferable

No, not the Internet.

shòu "longevity" I wasn’t far north of Zoe’s on my my home from a rather nice blue cheese burger when the chain on my bike came apart. Since I got the chain replaced on the latest occasion, I’ve been leaving the pack of disposable plastic gloves at home, but tonight I seem to have been prescient and took them with me. Luckily, there’s a bike shop just north of the 1st Ring Road. I note, however, that I didn’t break the chain where the ends were linked, but at another point. I would like to boast about the power of my legs, but I think the poor quality of the chain is the more likely culprit. There used to be a time when I’d have to replace chains because they’d got stretched, but until I came to China, I can only remember one occasion when I broke one.

I keep wondering whether I should buy a new bike, but it seems excessive to do that just to get a decent chain which would, sooner or later, fall apart and I’d be back to square one.

While we’re in that part of Chengdu, the work on the Metro system where it crosses the 1st Ring Road can now be viewed. And there’s still a lot of work to be done. I can’t see this up and running until some time late this year at the earliest if the work there is representative of the state of the line for most of its length.

I did a little DVD shopping this afternoon. I happened across a BBC series called Egypt which I hadn’t heard of. It’s a docudrama about the discovery of the tomb of Tutankhamen and, by the looks of it, the aftermath. I watched the first episode, which followed Howard Carter in his quest to discover the tomb. I admit that I bought the second series of Torchwood, but mainly because I want to see some British telly for once. Most of the TV series you get here are American, which isn’t intolerable, but it’d be nice to have something home-grown to watch. I watched the first episode of Torchwood in which James Marsters turned up dressed like Adam Ant in 1980 and still playing Spike from Buffy.

PS I added the image above because I’m shòuing [sic!] off. [All that for the worst pun evah? Ugh. –ed.]

Leave a Reply

