Finishing off

There were some words left on the plate.
 
I thought I should really go through the rest of the first paragraph from the Anabasis to finish things off properly.
 
The second part of the first paragraph of Xenophon's Anabasis
 
He sent Cyrus (away) from the king who made him satrap and appointed him general of everyone who was living on the plain of Castolos. Then Cyrus went back, taking his friend Tissaphernes and he returned with thirty hoplites from among the Greeks, Xenias Parrasion commanding them.
I don’t know exactly what μεταπέμπεται means, but I recognise πέμπω "send", hence I’m thinking "send away". ἀθροίζονται is puzzling, but perhaps means something like "live" or "be in". (I looked up the word afterwards. It means "gather; collect") I’m not sure whether Τισσαφέρνην ὡς φίλον means "his friend Tissaphernes" or I should actually translate it as "Tissaphernes as a friend" (i.e., as someone who’d side with Cyrus). I’ve translated ἔχων as a preposition rather than a participle, and assume that τῶν Ἑλλήνων is partitive genitive, hence "from among the Greeks". (I see that Cyrus took 300 hoplites, not 30; I wasn’t certain of the number.)
 
I’ve also translated everything in the past tense, although Xenophon appears to be using the historic present.
 
The latest on the tragedy in Taranto now says that Enrico Brandimarte was 48. (He was 45 yesterday). It says that first he killed his daughters with a hammer and "[p]oi ha legato la moglie, Anna Maria Fanelli, 44 anni, al letto con una corda e le ha sfondato la testa con alcune martellate". With the added detail of una corda, I might’ve guessed that legato meant "tied" as Matt observed in his comment. With additional information, the word is more accurately contextualised which then allows me to guess its sense more accurately.
 
The newer article goes on to say
Successivamente, sarebbe uscito di casa, avrebbe telefonato in ospedale per comunicare ad una collega della moglie di aver compiuto il massacro, e sarebbe rientrato nell’appartamento con l’intento di suicidarsi, che ha messo in pratica recidendosi le arterie femorali.
 
Subsequently, he would have left the house, telephoned the hospital to inform a colleague of his wife’s that he had committed the massacre, and would have returned to the flat with the intention of killing himself, which he achieved by cutting his femoral arteries.
Probably, I should really have translated successivamente as "successively" (i.e., in the following order) rather than "subsequently". I’m not sure about compiuto, which looks like "completed" (and is; I checked in the dictionary). Ha messo in pratica looks like some set phrase; something like "put into practice" (which my dictionary confirms).

Leave a comment