The world’s tallest pagoda

All for ¥100 million.

When I first went to Changzhou, I happened upon Hong Mei Park where I could see that they were building a rather large pagoda. When I was in Hong Kong, the Post had a picture of the opening of Tianning Temple which is 153.79m high. The last time I was in Changzhou, I thought it’d actually been finished, but they must still have been working on it. Changzhou’s mayor, Wang Weicheng said, “The development of religion is closely linked to the development of our economy.” He must be going for some irony award.

I wonder if the mayor who is, natürlich, a Party boy made a offering.

Leave a Reply

