All right, I have six

But I don’t use most of them.

Victor Keegan makes the observation in To the average Joe, blogs aren’t cutting it that blogs are still a minority sport in spite of their increasing numbers. As he says

since Technorati’s figures include people with multiple blogs and maybe (they don’t say) little-used ones as well, the number of individual bloggers is even lower.

True, I suspect. When I originally wrote this entry, I had six blogs. Seven years later, it was down to five, which are all intermittently active. Two have identical content (which tends to be book and film reviews these days; occasionally other things), one has come to deal with education more than anything else, although I’ve been tempted to purge it, or even delete it and start again, and the remaining two about different aspects of gaming. (11.08.14.)

If I’m not atypical (well, I am, but that’s another matter), then 71 million blogs may be the product of about 13 million bloggers.

Social networkers, late arrivals on the scene as a mass movement, prefer to communicate directly with others in their chosen groups such as MySpace, Facebook, Bebo and all the others rather than blog or even email each other.

I have a preference for talking to myself; talking to chance visitors (often enticed here for the wrong reason); and talking to people who found they like a daily or weekly dose of Mr Bamboo’s words of wisdom. But I also like blogging because I like writing. It’s good practice, although I don’t know whether I improve as a writer because of it, or whether I’ve merely reached my level of incompetence.

Of course, as Keegan notes, with this whole networking thing, you have an audience who share your interests; but I tend to do that via on-line forums rather than Gossip Central.

Keegan suggests “that the vast majority of people prefer just to read blogs rather than write them”. Although reading is, properly speaking, more strenuous than writing because perception is more difficult than pro­duc­t­ion, writing takes more time overall, and many people probably feel that they just don’t have the time to spare.

Who knows? Though my blog may not bring me much fame now, long after I’ve gone, I may be hailed as the Samuel Pepys or John Evelyn of the 21st century. Or perhaps simply as “The dead guy whose blog we just deleted”.

[11.08.14. Who does blog these days? At the time of writing, I’ve been going through old entries in the Computers and Internet category and mostly deleting them. Probably, apart from a few posts in that section which I deem worthy, the rest will go, and I’ll replace them with a single page. The reason for this review is the observation that most of what I’ve said, especially in this category, would have been better off on, say, Facebook or Twitter where such ephemera belongs.]

Leave a Reply

