Pitiful

Think of the children.

Are modern teachers a bunch of complete wimps? Teachers demand right to walk out of hot classrooms begins

Teachers yesterday demanded the right to walk out of hot classrooms during soaring temperatures, claiming “glasshouse” schools were putting children’s safety at risk.

Now if the sentence had ended “…because they couldn’t be bothered wast­ing their time teaching surly, overheated adolescents” I might’ve re­spected their honesty. It seems like the old trick of doing it for the children when they’re just doing it for themselves.

I’ve had to teach in sub-zero temperatures; and I expect long before the term ends, the temperature may be in the high twenties or low thirties with not even the remotest chance that climatic extremes will prevent teaching from taking place. Even the absence of decent lighting doesn’t stop teachers in China.

They said schools should make contingency plans for lessons to be held in cooler, less sunny rooms during heatwaves or ensure early-morning slots for subjects using heat-emitting equipment, such as science, technology and food science classes.

Apart from the last of these, I’d be more concerned about PCs getting overheated than them being the cause of overheating, and I don’t recall science classes involving the use of blast furnaces.

One delegate at the National Union of Teachers’ annual conference in Harrogate predicted that climate change could lead to schools closing during summer, just as ice and snow sometimes brought education to a halt during the winter.

And just how is this relevant to anything, pea brain?

Teachers and pupils risked problems such as dizziness, fainting and heat cramps, they said.

There are a few ideas for getting me out of having to teach my little darlings. Perhaps I could go for pregnancy. Biologically a little impossible, but worth a shot.

“How can children stay safe, be healthy, enjoy and achieve if they are in an environment that is at best uncomfortable and at worst downright dangerous.”

Spare me the melodrama.

“If temperatures soar, then it may be necessary to disrupt children’s schooling.”

I can assure you that unless the modern school child has changed from my day, they don’t give a damn. You make it sound as if disruption is a bad thing. Actually, it makes a nice change from the usual routine and stimulates the young mind. See, I can make it seem to benefit the little dears as well.

2 thoughts on “Pitiful”

  1. After struggling with China Unicom for so long I’m finally allowed to comment here…. Now I wonder what ridiculous rubbish MSN will throw up.When I read about those poor teachers tears welled up in my eyes. Really. It’s terrible that they have to suffer through so much.

  2. Yeah, I haven’t cried so much since I last had to teach Class 13. So about two hours ago, then.

Leave a Reply

