It was an exciting, gloomy morning on the island…

The bargain hunter.

I happened to find last night that the bookshop opposite the gates to the Teacher Training University has quite an extensive range of linguistics books published in China under the auspices of the CUP. I went back this morning and bought four, which cost me ¥137 (just over £9). If I’d bought these from a bookshop at home, the same four books would’ve cost just under £69 (or ¥1030).

So, major score for the stingy thrifty linguistics nerd.

It is gloomy, though, and it now seems duller than it was when I woke up this morning. Everything is grey. There’s a grey haze over Fuzhou as you look north across the river. It’s the sort of wintry day that makes you want to go back to bed and hibernate, which I’m kind of half-heartedly willing myself not to do right now. I’m not sure I’m going to win.

Leave a Reply

