That’s a bit literary, isn’t it?

You’d never say that these days.

If you went to the site about the Linear B joke,1 you might’ve checked out the Flash animation of the Viking Kittens spreading furry cuteness through­out a terrified Europe to the strains of Led Zeppelin’s Immigrant Song. (See Notes below for link to YouTube.)

I couldn’t help but notice the line “On we sweep with threshing oar”, which struck me as being surprisingly literary. It’s the sort of thing you’d expect to find in slightly older translations of The Odyssey or the Icelandic sagas.

I can imagine modern studio execs scratching their heads and then thinking that “threshing” was a typo for Threshers; and then thinking that they needed to get some beer, ciggies, and crisps for when Led Zeppelin were coming to  talk about the lyrics to their new song.

“Probably meant to write, ‘On we sweep to Threshers’ shop/Can’t stop drinking, till we stop.'”

Unfortunately, if I do a search for the term “threshing oar” via Google, all I get is links to Immigrant Song.

Notes
1. I assume that this may be referring to a link in a previous post. The video can still be found on YouTube (natch). Click here. (I must admit that when I did a search for “Viking kittens” on YouTube, I was going to get some rather different material.)

Leave a Reply

