Bric-a-brac

What are they going to report now?

Reports on the inquest into the death of Annie Pang Chor-ying have become a regular feature of the South China Morning Post recently. But alas, the inquest has come to an end. Annie Pang was a model with a rather screwed up life. She died in July 1995 of an unknown cause. Her body wasn’t found until 1999. She was known to be into drugs and gambling, and had tried to commit suicide.

What gets me about the whole case, is that she could’ve been dead for so without anyone wondering what’d happened to her. Her sugar daddy, John Fang Meng-sang, doesn’t appear to have asked any questions, although he did go to the flat where he completely missed seeing the body. I can only think the flat was a pigsty.


Where do pedestrians go?

They’re doing roadworks on the main street of Changzhou and have fenced off quite a large area. If you’re on the north side of the road, you can get around them without too much grief, but the south side is basically blocked off. The quickest way to get along the road is to walk along the road between the cars and the ubiquitous blue fencing. But in the great Traffic Hierarchy in China, pedestrians are ranked somewhere below rancid pond scum, hence no provision is made for them.

[25.07.13. Seven years later in Wuxi, much the same is happening because of the construction of a Metro system in the centre of the city. Pedestrians can only walk along the outside of a wall fencing off the building site as cars, electric scooters, and cyclists try to get by. In addition, there are large potholes in the temporary road surface which has been in place for the past three (?) years, and as I’m not as insensible to these things as the Chinese, I have to manoeuvre round them and avoid the other idiots on the road.]


Give it time.

I went into the DVD shop near the Changzhou Grand to find that they had the first series of the most recent Dr Who. I’d bought the first two DVDs while I was home last summer. I saw the series in a Tardis-shaped box on sale in HMV in Hong Kong, but it was bulky and cost HK$1960. Anyway, it’s saved me a bunch of money.

[25.07.13. Great entry, Mr Bamboo. History will be grateful to you for recording this.]


The Wild East.

From the few Hong Kong films I’ve seen, I’d have to conclude that there are gun battles in the streets every day of the week. This came true just recently with the shooting of two policemen on Canton Road near Austin Road. This is just north of Harbour City.

The whole business could be a bad Hong Kong film. Two policemen are ambushed by an off-duty colleague who shoots them with a handgun that was stolen five years earlier and had already been used in one murder. They take down their attacker, but the dead policeman’s gun ends up back in its holster. All very mysterious.


This is logical?

Sudoku is meant to be about logical deduction. I do the Post’s sudoku when I get a copy of the paper. The first one I tried was a five star puzzle I did in about twenty minutes on the train back from Suzhou. Most of the hard sudoku puzzles I’ve encountered seem to follow a common pattern of paired numbers so that you know two squares in a box, or on a line or column are limited to those numbers. The process of solving such puzzles is slow rather than hard.

Last Saturday’s puzzle absolutely defeated me because after getting about five numbers there were no further moves without guessing. I checked the puzzle in a sudoku program I have. It got as far as I had, and then said there were no more moves available without guessing.

I’m not sure that that makes for good sudoku because there should be a logical sequence of steps to follow. Guessing shouldn’t be part of it.

2 thoughts on “Bric-a-brac”

  1. You’ve got to be kidding right..! How the hell do you miss a rotting corpse! I posted a blog about a guy living next door to a guy that had been dead for just one week and he said the stink from that was so strong that his and a few other apartments had to be fumigated. Missed it my arse, I bet he blood did it when her habits started to cost him too much!

  2. The lawyer doesn’t seem to have been back to the flat until long after the event, so he’d have no reason to be expecting a body. I think the skeleton was found a few days later when workers went in to start refurbishing the place. John Fang said he was distracted by some maintenance work that needed to be done, hence he didn’t see the remains.
     
    My guess is that it was death by misadventure, but the rest of the world seems to have been rather negligent.

Leave a Reply

